Department of Endocrine Surgery

Departmental Profile

The Royal North Shore Hospital (RNSH) Department of Endocrine Surgery is the base for the University of Sydney Endocrine Surgery Unit (USESU) which is the largest endocrine surgery treatment centre in Australia. The USESU treats over 1,500 people each year with thyroid, parathyroid and adrenal disease across six hospitals and is lead by four Endocrine Consultant Surgeons.

 The USESU is the home of the TS Reeve Endocrine Surgery Fellowship and the ANZES Endocrine Surgery Fellowship which has trained many leaders in surgery in Australia and around the world.

 The USESU is active in surgical research, quality improvement and endocrine cancer research with active programs from lab-based and translational research to clinical outcomes research.

 More information about current research programs and publications is available by the links below for each Specialist Surgeon.’

Staff Members

Head of Department Professor Stanley Sidhu [University]
Surgical Academia Lead Associate Professor Mark Sywak [University]
Royal Australian College of Surgeons Supervisor Dr Justin Evans
Specialists Associate Professor Mark Sywak [University]

Professor Stanley Sidhu [University]

Professor Leigh Delbridge

Dr Anthony Glover [University]

Department Secretary Johannes Willemse

Related Links

Contact Person

Mr Johannes Willemse